Day 13

I hope you guys have been having a fantastic new year! My year has been annoyingly similar to 2014, so I can’t really comment yet as to how I feel about 2015.

On to the diet progress!

The first concern I’d like to discuss would be my hair. Remember how I said that I fixed my “greasy hair syndrome”? Well, that’s come back, in a way like never before. So, after I tried that one can of coconut milk that was completely thick and gloopy, my hair felt like it had been smothered in mayonnaise. So, for two days, I washed my hair with straight castille soap and a few drops of tea tree oil. Do you think that helped at all? No. The castille soap did strip my hair of the coconut milk’s oil, but then left its own oil on my hair so when my hair dried, it felt exactly the same. Not only was it still greasy, but my scalp was itching like crazy! I have scabs from where it itched so bad and I just could stop. The following day, I ran some ACV over my scalp (once I wet it down) and let it sit in a towel for about 30 minutes. Then I stepped into the shower, washed it out and massaged my scalp with about 2-3 tsp. of honey for 5 minutes. I should have kept that in for about an hour, but instead I just rinsed it out.

Once I was done, I stepped out, dried off and waited to feel what would happen. The results? The greasiness was still definitely there, but I think it was because of the ACV treatment, because it’s also used as a conditioner. The itchiness, however, was gone, and only towards the end of the day did it start to itch again. I think it has to do with the greasiness, since the more oily your hair is, the more dandruff you usually produce which in turn makes your head itch.

So, I bought a new can of coconut milk (it sounded normal when I sloshed it around in the can) and did up a recipe of 2 Tbsp. of castille soap and 1.5 Tbsp. of coconut milk. After I dried off my hair and let it air dry, I ran my hands through my hair. The result? Nothing. It was still oily and my scalp itched like before. This is ridiculous. I can’t go out in public like this and I’m having trouble figuring out a new solution. I’m not going back to baking soda, because the last time I did that, I had a really bad reaction. And trust me, it wasn’t because I didn’t rinse well enough. I can’t just use honey on my hair because it leaves it super greasy, same with the castille soap and coconut milk mixture. I’m considering trying a mud shampoo, but am reluctant to buy anything that might not work for me.

While surfing the internet, I came across some information that made me rethink that I was doing. Castille soap has a pH of around 8.9 and our scalp likes a pH around 4 to 7. It’s much more alkaline than our scalp likes, hence the itchiness and whatnot. So, I tried browsing among the pH-balanced homemade shampoo, and found this recipe:

1 can of Coconut Milk (or about 1 1/2 cups if you like to make it yourself.)
1 3/4 cups pure aloe vera gel
Optional: Essential oils

All you do is pour the mixture in ice cube trays and put them in the freezer for a few hours and when you want to use one, you just put it in a container in your shower. She says each cube will generally last for about 2-3 washes.

Apparently, the woman who made it also had troubles with castille soap (itchiness, greasy hair, etc.), tried this recipe and loves it! She didn’t say what type of hair she has though because mine is naturally greasy, while other’s are dry. The aloe vera gel concerns me, because I’m not sure if that would just coat my hair and make a super oily mess. She says that it makes your hair feel a tab bit waxy and if it feels this way, you’re supposed to do a quick rinse with ACV.

She also mentions how washing your hair every day can make the oil glands in your hair go into overdrive…oops. I guess I should have thought of that, but I’m just really tired of the oily mess. I think that once I get my hands on some money, I’ll try that recipe out, but for now I’ll continue using the coconut/castille soap once every three days and then just rinse with honey the rest of the week, just to control the dandruff and itch.

Second, I have a confession to make: I haven’t oil pulled or had lemon water and kombucha in the past three days. On top of that, I’m really reconsidering the homemade toothpaste. But that may be because I haven’t oil-pulled. The toothpaste was working wonders while I was, but not anymore. Now, when I wake up in the mornings, I have this terrible taste in the back of my tongue and when I look, it’s like a bacteria bomb went off. DISGUSTING. No matter how hard and long I scrape my tongue, it comes back in the morning like some kind of a tidal wave.

Honestly, this is probably due to not oil-pulling, so I just need to continue to do that, along with the lemon water. And actually, as I’m typing this, I’m drinking some kombucha, so I’ve finally got that covered. If my mouth doesn’t get better after a few days of oil-pulling and brushing my teeth 2x/day, I’ll probably need to find a different recipe, because this isn’t working.

I think those are my woes while being on this homemade products and GAPS diet lifestyle, so here are some extra things:

  1. I’ve lost 8 pounds! Wooo! Since I’m so young, weight just melts off me like butter, which is nice but probably won’t last for much longer.
  2. My face has cleared up so well! I have these scars on the side of my face from acne, and they’re almost gone! The honey treatment works really well on my face as well as the fact that I’m not eating as much sugar as I was. Sugar really messed my face up.
  3. 20150107_14455220150107_144740 My rabbit is a total butthole. The first picture is what she did to me as I was holding her. She was mad at me or something. The second picture is when I was ushering her up the ramp so she could get her pellets (like we do everyday) and she happily chomped on my hand. Lucky for her, I don’t eat my pets. Unfortunately for her, I locked her up for the night and didn’t feed her. When I woke up in the morning, the bite was infected and had pus . That’s a picture of the bite today, whereas yesterday was the day it was infected.

And for those of you who are worried that I’m abusing my rabbit by not allowing her to eat her evening 2 Tbsp. of pellets, I assure you, her pellets are supplementing her diet. She’s given unlimited timothy hay (which I source from our local feed store), and about 8-10 cups of dark greens and vegetables a day. The only reason I’m giving her pellets at all is because it’s more like a vitamin. To just make sure she’s getting the nutrients she should be in a given day. I fed her in the morning though, so it’s not like she would starve through the night.

Anyways, this is what’s been pretty much going on in the past week. One last thing though, my chicks will be hatching soon! I have a mix of 12 eggs from probably 6 different breeds I got from a lady who works up at the raptor center and they should be hatching either today or tomorrow. I can’t wait! I’ll take a lot of pictures, I promise!

Have a good afternoon!

P.S. – the eggs are not raptor eggs. She works at the raptor center, has chickens, and gave some of her eggs to me. Just thought I would clear that up!

Leave a Reply

