Day 7

Yes! Somehow, I have made it to a full seven days without giving up this incredibly difficult diet. And when I say difficult, it’s difficult. I honestly want to go as long as I can being on this cleanse, until I’m able to find a farm who grows their own wheat (the old, heritage kind, like kamut) and lets people either grind it there or buy the fresh berries and grind it at home. I would absolutely buy the heck out of them! Old grains like that aren’t processed nearly as much as, say, soft white spring wheat is, because it usually can’t compete with the quantity that’s produced. So, until I find a farm that does that, I think I’ll remain right where I am; drinking kombucha, rubbing magnesium oil on my feet and growing a bunny garden to strictly produce Mable’s veggies. She costs about $15/week in just her vegetables! Such a spoiled rabbit.

As I told you guys earlier, after the 7 day mark, I would only post “My Journey” posts probably once or twice a week. Let’s shoot for twice right now, and then when I get past the one month mark, then we’ll do once a week and then so on and so forth.

So, today was interesting. Today was a big day, full of football, so my dad had his friend over and they kept shouting at the TV screen while my friend and I were watching “Hellboy: The Golden Army”. Since the first day I saw that movie, I’ve wanted to marry Abraham. Has that thought crossed anyone else’s mind? Anyways, I didn’t eat until around 12:30 or so, and when I did, I had two farm-fresh eggs, a little bit of sharp cheddar sprinkled on and a whole lot of tabasco sauce. Since ketchup used to be my flavoring of choice, I’ve now switched to using tabasco because, well, it’s red, like ketchup. I wish there was a way to make ketchup without sugar, but unfortunately, if ketchup didn’t have any sugar added to it it’d just taste like marinara sauce, and I am not putting marinara on my eggs.

After I ate breakfast, my friend and I proceeded to laze about my room, playing with Mable and pretty much evading other people. If there was such a thing as vampires, I’m sure we’d be them. Or at least she would. After debating about who would make a better vampire, we decided to go hangout with her grandparents to get her birthday/Christmas present. Her birthday is on January 2nd, so the family usually combines it. As soon as I sat down on the couch, Bandit slowly got up and walked towards me eyeing my lap like it was made of warm, fresh laundry. Then, he jumped up and decided that my lap was his and I couldn’t have it back. As I was petting him, I noticed that he had drops of water on his neck…then I saw this:

20150101_145612 Wait. What’s that droplet on his lip?

20150101_145603

Oh my God…this cat is drooling!

Dog drool is one thing, because you pretty much expect it, but cat drool is an entirely different matter. There’s something wrong, there. Most of my friend’s cats are that way though, so I really wasn’t that surprised. Still grossed out, though. Here I was thinking that it was cute he hadn’t cleaned his face after drinking from his water bowl.

So, after being drooled on by Bandit for about an hour, my friend dropped me off at my house and I went back up in my room and played with Mable. And by “play”, I’m usually walking around and she follows me and nudges at my leg, wanting me to give her pets. If I don’t, and I’m sitting on the ground, she does this:

20141217_201906

It’s pretty much the cutest thing in the world and I can’t resist it. By the way, yes, she is almost longer than my leg. When she’s stretching up, trying to see if you have any banana in your hand, she’ll reach about 3 feet high, ears excluded.

Anyways, after that, I went downstairs and made myself a simple green salad using the cashew chicken leftovers and then had a tangerine. After that, I drank a lot of water, drank some kombucha and watched Dr. Oakley for a while before returning back to my sanctuary and writing about my day!

Struggles of the day:

My mother made some pumpkin bread and I went to go grab some, and then I remembered my diet. Same thing with the loaf of fresh french bread…and you guys know exactly how much I like french bread. She also made a potato soup for my dad and his friends, which they loved, but I was mad because I couldn’t have any. She said she’d make the Thai Coconut Soup, but then changed her mind and said she’d make it tomorrow, so for dinner, I had an orange and the rest of my kombucha.

Good news:

I’m finding that my cravings have definitely gone down. I’m not craving snacks as much as I had, and I’m also not eating as much. Hopefully, once I get the job at Petco (fingers crossed!) I’ll get the “exercise” portion taken care of. I know, I know. Walking around a store for 8 hours a day barely fits into the category of exercise, but I do know that I’ll be doing a whole lot of skiing this winter, so that’ll be something extra I hope to benefit from. My mom also told me to get into yoga, but I’m not sure about that. I did “pregnant yoga” once and at the end of the session, the instructor asked us to give one word that would describe how our vagina feels. Only in Eugene, Oregon.

After that experience, I dare say I probably won’t be doing yoga, but who knows. I’ve tried roller derby, soccer, basketball (briefly, when I was 10), running, swimming and a million other things. The ones that have stuck with me are: skiing, marching band (if you tell me that marching band isn’t a sport, I’d like you to try blowing breath out from your lungs for 2 minutes, if necessary, while blindly running across a football field and carrying an instrument that may weigh 10 lbs. or heavier while making sure you don’t slip on mud without looking on the ground. Make fun of the sport and I will smack you with my clarinet), swimming, mountain bike riding, and walking dogs. I can’t walk or run without a dog by my side. Trust me, I’ve tried and it doesn’t work. Unfortunately since it’s winter and I live on hills, I’d really only be able to ski, which as you can imagine, is an expensive sport.

Also, one other thing I’d like to add. I hate spelling things wrong, so if you guys catch mistakes and grammatical errors, would you please somehow tell me? I read over every blog posting twice before I posted it, but I find mistakes afterwards and it bothers me. So if you find one, and it’s totally embarrassing, first, laugh about it, and then forgive me. I am only human, as they say.

Wow, this is probably the most pointless post I’ve posted so far. It had barely any GAPS references in there any where. I’ll be sure to talk more about new body products and what I’ll be experimenting with in…a few days.

Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

