Day 6

HAPPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!

HAPPY

TO

THE

FREAKING

NEW

YEAR!

happy new year

*ahem* Now that I got that off my chest, I’d just like to say that today was TERRIBLE. Okay, so a little something about me: I am a huge asian-food lover. In fact, there’s probably nothing asian (besides sushi) that I don’t like. I like curry, and basically anything with noodles or rice. Anyways, my parents decided that, because it was New Years, they would go out to PF Chang’s and order some asian food. LAME.

First of all, it’s terrible that the GAPS diet doesn’t include “fruits, veggies, meats, and asian food,” because if it had, I’d be its number one fan. A lot of the menu items have grains, or their sauces have added sugar, or there’s corn somewhere on the dish, whether it’s oil or high fructose corn syrup. So that’s why I can’t eat it.

So, while they were out having a blast, I went to work on my meal. Oh, and before I get all carried away, I can tell you that this morning went terribly with making my daily shampoo, because the coconut milk I got was either old or I just didn’t prepare it right but either way, I ended up with greasy hair throughout the day. My dad actually touched my hair and said, “Wow. Are you trying to make candles with that?” UGH. Embarassing.

So, to fix it, I washed my hair with 1 tsp. of castille soap and 4 drops of tea tree oil. That did the trick. My hair just felt so much lighter.

Anyways, with the meal, I made cashew chicken lettuce wraps.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. of chicken breast or thighs, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/4 cup of butter or coconut oil (I opt for refined coconut oil…the butter I used was salty and made the entire dish taste like the sea
  • 2 minced cloves of garlic
  • salt
  • pepper
  • dried basil
  • 3 Tbsp. coconut aminos or naturally fermented soy sauce (I used normal soy sauce that was sugar and wheat-free)
  • 3 Tbsp. maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup toasted cashews
  • sliced red onion for garnish
  • bibb lettuce leaves

So, what did I do wrong? When I went to the store, I forgot two things. I forgot the maple syrup and the red onion. That’s why it was so salty. Basically, you melt the butter in a large skillet, plop the chicken in there, mix it around and then put the spices in there, (with the spices, put as much or as little as you’d like because it really doesn’t matter). When the chicken is cooked, put the coconut aminos or soy sauce in there and let it cook down until most of the aminos (or soy sauce) has evaporated. Add the maple syrup and continue to stir until there’s barely any liquid in the pan. Add cashews and stir until heated. Go ahead and serve the chicken wrapped in the bibb lettuce with a red onion garnish!

Even though it was incredibly salty, I liked it, especially since if you wrapped it in 2 or 3 leaves of the bibb, it took a lot of the saltiness away. It was surprisingly good, but next time I’ll make sure to buy the maple syrup!

Anyways, while I was at the store I also bought my kombucha (3 bottles!) and a different brand of coconut milk to try out, so we’ll see how that goes. I’m kind of mad at myself that I didn’t take a picture of the lettuce wrap, because it looked beautiful, and I can’t show you tomorrow because I gave the rest of the bibb lettuce to Mable. So I’ll make sure to take a picture next time I make it.

Sorry this post is so short. My party is crazy.

Just kidding. Like many people I’ve read who blog, I’d much rather curl up by a fireplace with a fantastic book about dragons, don my puppy socks to keep my forever-freezing feet warm and drink a tall glass of…water. Okay, so not like all bloggers. I don’t like the taste of alcohol, so it would never be wine. Not unless I was trying to act sophisticated or something, but let’s face it, I don’t need a glass of anything to sound sophisticated.

Okay. I’m babbling again.

I’m just going to go to bed with my water. Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

